Carbonite Post-Restore Checklist (Mac 2x)
This checklist will assist you with performing post-restore functions to get your data where it needs to be and resume your backup.
The sections below are collapsed. Please click a section title to open / close the appropriate section.
Step 1: Determine if Your Restore is Complete
Once your restore has completed with Carbonite version 2x, you will see a pop up from Carbonite indicating the restore is finished and displaying the number of files restored.
If you do not see this pop up, your restore is likely still in progress. You can view the progress of your restore through the Carbonite User Interface. This will show you the percentage of your selected files that has been restored so far.
Click the Carbonite icon in the menu bar and select Open Carbonite to open the Carbonite User Interface.
Within the Carbonite User Interface, click Restore Files under the MAIN section.
The Restore Files tab will let you restore all of your files to your computer and view the progress of any restore.
Step 2: Locate Your Restored Files
If you can't find your files after a restore, you can use your computer's Spotlight search feature to quickly track them down.
- You will find a report on your desktop called "Carbonite Restore Summary (timestamp).txt" after the restore completes. This report will tell you where the files were restored and notify you of any restore failures. In most case, restore failures are on metadata so you shouldn't be concerned if the reports lists something you do not recognize. However, you can attempt to restore any failed files you do recognize again through Carbonite or through Anytime Anywhere Access.
This is accomplished by clicking the Magnifying Glass in your menu bar and typing the name of the file or folder you're looking for. Your search results will be populated as you type. Clicking a folder in the results will open it in Finder. If you were looking for a file, it would open with the proper program on your computer, provided the required program is installed on your computer.
If your data was restored to an unexpected or unfamiliar location due to differences between the old computer and the new computer, you can drag and drop it to a more suitable location.
Any files that were not restored and are no longer on your computer (or are on your computer and not selected for backup) are kept on the Carbonite servers for 30 or 60 days before they are removed.
Step 3: Importing Your Restored Files
Carbonite's first priority is the safe retention and return of your personal data files. Our support staff is fully engaged in this focus to provide the best service we possibly can for all of your Carbonite-related needs. For certain programs, it may be necessary to perform additional steps to import restored data before that data will be accessible. These steps are outside of our expertise, but we’ve partnered with an organization called Support.com that specializes in this type of assistance. If you need help importing your restored data, you can contact Support.com at 1-866-314-1159. They are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
If you prefer to complete these steps yourself, you can access self-service instructions for importing data into each of the programs listed below by clicking the appropriate link in the Carbonite Instructions column:
|Apple Address Book||Importing into Address Book|
|Apple Mail||Importing into Apple Mail|
|Apple Calendar||Importing into Apple Calendar with iCloud
Importing into Apple Calendar Without iCloud
|Apple Photos||Importing into Apple Photos|
|iTunes||Importing into iTunes|
|Mozilla Firefox||Importing into Firefox|
|Microsoft Outlook 2016||Importing into Microsoft Outlook|
|Safari||Importing into Safari|
For any additional questions or concerns about a specific program, please check with the vendor of that program.
Step 4 (Optional): Adjust Power Settings
If you had adjusted your power settings to allow the computer to remain on for a quicker restore, you can use the instructions within this section to set them back.
Click the Apple symbol in the menu bar and select System Preferences to open the System Preferences window.
In the System Preferences window, click on the Energy Saver icon.
Click the Restore Defaults button to place the settings back to default.