Switching from Manual to Automatic Backup (Mac 2x)
Summary:
The Carbonite install process has Automatic Backup Settings selected by default to back up your most common folders and files. These user folders include, but are not limited to:
- Desktop
- Documents
- Pictures
- Music
- Movies
This option isn't just for initial install. It also ensures that the selected folders get selected for backup again if they were removed from the backup selection.
If you disable this option during or after install, Carbonite will still keep and maintain all the files and folders that were previously included for backup. However, if a folder that is normally included becomes removed from the backup manually it will not back up again until either automatic settings are enabled, or the file/folder is manually added back to the backup..
This article applies to:
| Carbonite Plans | Products | Platform |
| Basic, Plus, Prime, Core, Power, and Ultimate (Not sure?) | Safe and Safe Pro (Not sure?) | Mac - View the Windows article |
Solution:
Enabling Automatic Backup Settings
If you currently only have manual selections due to installing with the Advanced Settings option. Then you simply need to click the checkbox next to Enable Automatic Backup Settings on the Home tab of the Carbonite UI.

Alternatively, during reinstall of Carbonite you can simply leave the Automatic Settings option selected on the Backup Settings page of the installer before clicking Continue.

Backing Up Additional Files
If you want to back up files outside the Carbonite selected folders, you can select additional files and folders for backup.
Removing Files
If you want to remove files from your backup, you can:
- Delete files from your computer and they will be removed from Carbonite after 30 days
- Deselect the files from the Carbonite application and they will be removed within 72 hours.



Feedback