Carbonite Support > Removing Backed Up Files from ...

Our product offerings have been renamed. Carbonite Home Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup, and Carbonite Office Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup Pro.

Removing Backed Up Files from Carbonite

You can remove files, folders, and drives from the computer that has Carbonite installed and the deselected files will be removed from Carbonite backup within 72 hours.

Files deleted from your computer will be removed from your Carbonite backup after 30 or 60 days.

To remove files from your backup, follow the steps below.

  1. Open File Explorer by pressing the Windows logo and ‘E’ key on the keyboard at the same time.
    Windows Keyboard: Press the Windows Key and the E Key on your keyboard
  2. Within File Explorer, click This PC.
    Click This PC
  3. Double-click Carbonite Backup Drive.
    File Explorer: Open Carbonite Backup Drive
  4. Double-click Backed up Files.
    Double-click Backed up Files
  5. Double-click through your Carbonite backup and find the file, folder, or drive that you do not want to be backed up.
  6. After you find the file you want to remove from the Carbonite backup, right-click on it and select Do not back up.
    Right-click: Do not back up
Removing backed up folders will prompt a confirmation window. You can click Yes to proceed with removing the folder from your backup.

The deselected file will be removed from your Carbonite backup within 72 hours.

If you are a Carbonite Safe Backup Pro user and experience difficulty deselecting files, contact your account administrator to configure your backup policy. Your computer's backup policy may be forcing the inclusion of certain folders.

Feedback