Carbonite Support > Entering and Exiting Recover M...

Our product offerings have been renamed. Carbonite Home Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup, and Carbonite Office Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup Pro.

Entering and Exiting Recover Mode

When Carbonite backs up, it scans and removes files that no longer exist on the computer after 30 days for Carbonite Safe (Basic, Plus, and Prime) or 60 days for Carbonite Safe Backup Pro (Core, Power, and Ultimate) plans. Recover Mode pauses the timer, so you can restore your data from Carbonite without any complications. You can enter or exit Recover Mode through the Carbonite icon in the Windows notification area.

If you cannot enter Recover Mode on the original computer, you can move Carbonite Safe to another computer to restore your files or keep your backup in Recover Mode.
Enter Recover Mode

The sections below are collapsed. Please click the section title to open / close a particular section.

Entering Recover Mode to Restore

Entering Recover Mode pauses the file timer for removing deleted files, so you get the right versions of your files.

  • Deleted and missing files will not be flagged for removal.
  • New or pending files that are selected will not be backed up.
  • Changes to existing files will not be backed up.

Carbonite automatically enables Recover Mode if you install Carbonite on a new or repaired computer. To enter Recover Mode manually, follow the steps below.

  1. Right-click the Carbonite icon in the Windows task bar.
    • If you do not see the Carbonite icon, click ^ to expand the system tray.
  2. Select Enter Recover Mode.
    Enter Recover Mode

If you have successfully entered Recover Mode, the Carbonite icon will display a down arrow.

Enter Recover Mode

When in Recover Mode, you can safely restore all of your files or restore individual files and folders.

Exiting Recover Mode to Backup

Exiting Recover Mode resumes your backup.

  • New or pending files that are selected will be backed up.
  • Changes to existing files will be backed up.
  • Deleted and missing files will be flagged for removal.

Carbonite automatically enables Recover Mode if you install Carbonite on a new or repaired computer. To exit Recover Mode, follow the steps below.

  1. Right-click the Carbonite icon in the Windows task bar.
  2. Select Exit Recover Mode.
    Carbonite Windows Client: Exit Recover Mode
  3. Check the box that states, “I understand that any files I did not get back will be deleted from my backup in 30 days.
  4. Click Resume my backup.
    Unfreezing your Backup

If you have successfully exited Recover Mode, the Carbonite icon will no longer display a down arrow.

Feedback