Carbonite Support > FileVault and Carbonite

Our product offerings have been renamed. Carbonite Home Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup, and Carbonite Office Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup Pro.

Please add your Carbonite Mac software to Apple’s Full Disk Access security feature to continue backing up and restoring your files on macOS Mojave. For more information on how to configure this security feature for Carbonite, please use the appropriate link below:

-Configuring Full Disk Access for Carbonite 1.x
-Configuring Full Disk Access for Carbonite 2.x

FileVault and Carbonite

  • This article is for Mac only

FileVault is a powerful Apple security setting that encrypts the data on your computer’s hard drive. When enabled, FileVault uses XTS-AES 128-bit encryption to automatically encrypt all your drives whenever you log off, restart, or shut down your Mac.

To see if FileVault is enabled, click Security & Privacy from System Preferences and select the FileVault tab. You will see Turn Off FileVault... if the feature is enabled.
FileVault encryption setting enabled within Apple System Preferences

Having FileVault enabled prevents Carbonite from recognizing when files were last backed up and causes them to be backed up as though new. This currently cannot be worked around and, as such, it is not recommended to actively use both FileVault and Carbonite on the same computer.

Feedback