Back Up and Restore of Google Drive Data
- This article is for Windows only
Carbonite Safe Server Backup can be used to back up and restore data that is synchronized with Google Drive. This allows recovery of the data if it is deleted or if the Google Drive service is unavailable.
The Google Drive application must be installed and the data must be present and available on the local disk. Once the data is available on the local disk, select the Google Drive folder for backup within any File System backup set.
If a restore is necessary, use CSSB to restore the files or folders from Google Drive. If the data is restored directly to the Google Drive folder, it will be uploaded and synced automatically to the Google Drive service once restore is finished.
Please follow the steps below to backup and restore Google Drive data:
The sections below are collapsed. Please click the section title to open / close a particular section.
Before proceeding with the CSSB backup, the Google Drive software must be installed and operational on the system. Click the Install Drive for your computer option found in the left panel on http://drive.google.com to download the installer. Once installed, Google Drive will create a folder on the disk. If you are new to Google Drive, you must add files or folders to the Google Drive folder on the disk. If you are an existing Google Drive customer, the data stored on the cloud will be downloaded to this folder automatically.
- Files created via the Google Docs web interface are not automatically downloaded to disk by Google Drive as complete files. Only a stub, which links to the document on the Google Docs website, is synchronized. These stubs will be backed up by CSSB, but the full documents will not be.
- Google Docs files must be downloaded manually to disk in order to back them up in full. Other file types added to Google Drive do not have this restriction; they are synced fully by the Google Drive application.
The Google Drive data is available both on the web and on local disk after installation and synchronization is complete.
To back up Google drive data, follow these steps.
- Include the Google Drive folder in any File System backup set. A new backup set was created for this example, but existing backup sets can be used.
- Finish the configuration of your backup set and click Save & Continue.
- A screen will appear advising you to schedule your first full backup run. After setting the date and time, click Okay to proceed.
- Your newly configured backup set will be displayed in the Dashboard.
- The data will be backed up according to your schedules. You may launch a backup manually by navigating to the Backup Details page and clicking the Backup Now link.
- You will be able to select the backup location for your first full backup. Make your selection to proceed with the backup.
- Once the backup completes, you will receive notification in the Details column of the Dashboard.
Once the files and folders stored on Google Drive are protected with CSSB, they can be restored, even if a folder and some files are deleted or if Google Drive itself is unavailable.
In this example, the following items were deleted, and are gone from both disk and Google Drive.
- The Settings folder
- The Restore_Times.docx file
- The Reports.gsheet file
These files can be recovered by navigating to the Restore page. Select the Google Drive backup set you would like to restore.
By default, the All items in this backup set option will be chosen and everything in the backup set will be restored. You can can restore specific items instead by using the Select items in this backup set option, which will allow you to browse or search for files/folders to restore.
Restore to the Original Location if you want the restored items to be automatically synced back to your Google Drive after the restore is complete.
The Name Conflict Settings controls what will happen if a file queued for restore already exists on disk. In this example, the Keep existing file / Keep Original option is chosen so that only the deleted items will be restored, even if other items are selected. This ensures that the files that still exist on disk will not be overwritten with old versions from the backup.
Click Continue to confirm your restore settings and then click Start My Restore.
You will receive notification in the Dashboard that the restore was completed. Files that already existed in the original location were not restored because the Keep existing file Name Conflict Settings was chosen. Additional information about the restore will be listed within the Notifications panel.
The restored files are automatically synced back to Google Drive, once the restore is complete.