Carbonite Support > External, Network, and USB Dri...

Our product offerings have been renamed. Carbonite Home Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup, and Carbonite Office Backup is now Carbonite Safe Backup Pro.

External, Network, and USB Drives for Carbonite Safe

  • This article is for Windows and Mac

Certain Carbonite subscriptions allow you to back up a single external hard drive. If you try to select a second external hard drive for backup, a pop-up notification will inform you that backed up files from the first drive will be removed from your backup within 30 days. Networked drives, flash drives, SD cards, and NAS drives cannot be backed up.

Please select a Carbonite subscription type below for more information:

The sections below are collapsed. Please click a section title to open / close the appropriate section.

Carbonite Safe Plus and Carbonite Safe Prime Subscribers

If you have Carbonite Safe Plus or Carbonite Safe Prime, you can back up a single locally attached external hard drive, as long as the drive is connected to a USB port.

  • For Windows, the drive must be in FAT32 or NTFS format.
  • For Macs, the drive must be in extended journaled HFS+ format.

Note: If you've recently upgraded from Carbonite Safe Basic, we recommend restarting your computer. This will force your subscription to refresh and activate all of the extra capabilities in your new plan, including external hard drive backup.

On a PC, you can right-click the file, folder, or external hard drive and select Carbonite; Back this up. On a Mac, you can back up files or folders located on an external hard drive using the Carbonite Preferences pane / Carbonite User Interface by selecting Back this up.

You can only back up a single external hard drive. Selecting a single file for backup on an external drive will prevent you from being able to back up files on other external drives. If you try to add files from a second external hard drive to your backup, you will receive a message indicating that files or folders backed up from the previous external hard drive will be removed from your backup within 30 days.

Any files that are deleted from the selected external hard drive will be removed from your backup within 30 days. If the external hard drive fails or is physically disconnected, Carbonite will recognize those files as deleted and remove them from your backup within 30 days.

Carbonite Safe Basic and Trial Subscribers

If you have a Carbonite Safe Trial or Carbonite Safe Basic, this feature won't be available. If there are files on a remote drive that you wish to include in your Carbonite backupA set of copies of your files on our servers., copy the files to a selectable folder on your local hard drive. Once copied, select the files for back up by right-clicking on them and selecting Carbonite; Back this up (on a Mac you can back up files through the Carbonite Preference pane / Carbonite User Interface).

If you are using Carbonite Safe Basic on a Windows or Mac computer and wish to back up an external hard drive, you can upgrade your subscription at any time through your Carbonite account. We recommend restarting your computer after completing the upgrade to refresh your subscription and activate all of your new capabilities.

The files must remain on your local drive to stay actively backed up. Deleting or removing files from the local drive will cause Carbonite to mark them as deleted and remove them from our secure backup servers within 30 days.

If the files are on a shared network drive, you can install a Carbonite subscription on the computer on which the network drive physically exists. Once installed, you can select the files for backup directly from that computer.

Feedback